Author Archive :

Tony Jones

Kansas City Art Institute
A reception took place on January 14th at the Kansas City Art Institute’s H&R Block Artspace, honoring KCAI Interim President Tony Jones and his wife, the acclaimed photographer Patty Carroll. 

Faye Davis, Josh Rowland, Marc Wilson, and Michael Davis

Wilbur Niewald, Ann Holliday, Diane Burnette, and Dennis Strait

Tony Jones, KCAI; addressed the guests.

read more

2015 Art and Design Auction

Kansas City Art Institute
June 6th is the date for the Kansas City Art Institute’s 2015 Art and Design Auction on the KCAI campus. Linda and Topper Johntz are serving as the honorary chairmen of the event that will feature a “Deviation” theme. Partygoers will enjoy delicious fare, fun surprises and live and silent auctions of works by KCAI alumni and faculty.

read more

Congratulations, Mr. & Mrs. Kimminau!

Bride’s Book
Kristyn Leigh Reardon and John David Kimminau were married on August 2nd at St. Peter’s Catholic Church. The bride is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Edward Joseph Reardon of Leawood. Kristyn is the granddaughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Joseph Sullivan of Our Town and the late Mr. and Mrs. Edward Joseph Reardon. Her groom is the son of Mr. and Mrs. David Paul Kimminau of Lee’s Summit, Missouri.

read more

Private Stock

Insider Tip
Guests often take their cue from the bride and groom at a wedding reception. If they are on the dance floor, everyone will join them. If not, guests are more hesitant to dance. So, here’s a message to the bride and groom…be sure to dance!

Lisa and Mark Marek of the band Private Stock

Also featured in the February 21, 2015 issue of The Independent 
Photo Credit: David Riffel

A slider with the ID of 2 was not found.

read more

Annual Meeting

The Kansas City Jazz Orchestra
The beautiful home of Linda and Gene Hall was the setting for The Kansas City Jazz Orchestra’s Annual Meeting. Steve Irwin, Kansas City Jazz Orchestra; announced the theme of the May 9th Gala, “Rhapsody In Blue – The Music and Lyrics of George and Ira Gershwin.” Don Hall is the honorary chairman, and Edith and Benny Lee are serving as the chairmen.

read more