Author Archive :

American Heart Association

In the Spotlight 
April 25th is the date for the American Heart Association’s Go Red For Women Half Day For Your Heart to be held at the Overland Park Convention Center. Dana Abraham and Trish Walker are serving as the co-chairmen. Guests will enjoy a delicious lunch, health expo, silent purse auction, education information, and speakers focused on women’s health issues.

read more

Congratulations, Mr. and Mrs. Steele!

Kristen Leigh Briggs and Stephen Douglas Steele were married on August 3rd at Cherry Hills Country Club in Denver, Colorado. The bride is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Douglas Briggs of Olathe. She is the granddaughter of Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Fenwick of Larned, Kansas, Mr. and Mrs. Reed Peters of Larned, Kansas, and Mrs. Kenneth Briggs of Independence, Missouri, and the late Mr. Briggs. Her groom is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Kendall Steele of Phoenix, Arizona.

read more

Leigh Lawrence Gray

Crib Note
Leigh Lawrence Gray is the new girl in Town! The blue-eyed, dark blonde-haired beauty was born on December 9th to Courtney Lawrence Gray and Brett William Gray of Prairie Village. Leigh came into this world weighing seven pounds and four ounces. Her older brother, Patrick William Gray, just turned three. The little darlings are the grandchildren of Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Wilson Lawrence of Our Town and Mr. and Mrs. William Gerald Gray of Gardner, Kansas.

read more

Top Ten Party

Celebrating Success
On February 20th, The Independent and Nonprofit Connect hosted a Top Ten Party at The Bean Hangar at The Roasterie. Emcee John Holt announced the Top Ten Events of 2013.  The 2014 Rising Stars of Philanthropy were also celebrated. Guests enjoyed delicious fare from Lon Lane’s Inspired Occasions, while celebrating Our Town’s commitment to philanthropy.

read more

Merle Ludwig

Tails of Our Town
Merle, a three-year-old American Blue Heeler, posed with Brody Butler, his new owner Scott Ludwig’s nephew. Scott adopted Merle from Great Plains SPCA, and the two of them are running buddies!
Also featured in the March 8th issue of The Independent 

A slider with the ID of 2 was not found.

read more