Author Archive :

Wayside Waifs – Fur Ball “Beach Pawty”

Susie and Tom Corbin were the honorary chairmen, and Lauren McCarthy and Nancy McCarthy served as the co-chairmen of Wayside Waifs’ Fur Ball, “Beach Pawty,” on May 13th. More than 1,000 guests enjoyed a delicious dinner, silent and live auctions and dancing.

Emily and Mark Johnson with Geoff Hall, Wayside Waifs; and Michele Pritchard

Erica and Dustin Pyle

 Jan Kyle and her friends had a wonderful time.

read more

Symphony Ball – Kick-Off Tea

March 8th was the date for the Kick-Off Tea for the Symphony League of Kansas City’s Symphony Ball, “An Evening in Vienna,” at the beautiful home of Rachael Sabates. Pam Bruce and Suzanne Shank are the Ball co-chairmen. Committee members enjoyed a delicious array of tea sandwiches and elegant chocolates and learned about upcoming plans for the Ball, to be held on September 9th at the Kansas City Convention Center.

read more

Rising Star Reflections – Patrick Parkes

Patrick Parkes is a volunteer with Variety KC. He drafted the language for its 2016 mission video and believes that conversations can educate others on the importance of inclusion as well as change attitudes about disability in the community. According to Patrick, each interaction is an important one for Variety and could lead to a connection with a future Variety child/family, supporter or volunteer.

read more

MOCSA – Community Luncheon

Nancy and Steve Hooley and Kelly and Ron Lockton were the honorary co-chairmen, Julana Harper-Sachs and Becky Loboda served as the co-chairmen and Elizabeth Souder and Matt Sharples were the community support committee co-chairmen for Metropolitan Organization to Counter Sexual Assault (MOCSA’s) Community Luncheon on May 5th at the Muehlebach Tower of the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. Byron Hurt, filmmaker, writer, speaker, and anti-sexual violence activist; was the keynote speaker.

read more

Lyric Opera Circle – Spring Luncheon

Carriage Club was the beautiful setting for Lyric Opera Circle’s Spring Luncheon. Beth Ingram was presented with a portrait by Mark Braswell, Strauss Peyton Portraiture; which will hang in the Beth Ingram Administrative Building. The 2017-2018 Executive Board of the Circle was presented, and Outgoing President Joan Braswell passed the gavel to Incoming President Kimberlee Ried.

read more