Author Archive :

Sheffield Place

Capturing Hope
Sheffield Place is a treatment and transitional living center for homeless mothers and their children. The children at Sheffield Place recently participated in the national Pictures of Hope program, an award-winning initiative founded by celebrity photographer Linda Solomon. Pictures of Hope empowers homeless children to capture their dreams through photography. The program is sponsored by Chevrolet and Cable Dahmer Chevrolet.

read more

Perfect Putt

2013 KidsTLC Open
It was a wonderful day for golf, friends and support for the 2013 KidsTLC Open on July 12th at Sycamore Ridge Golf Course. Dave Nickloy, Devin Schuster and Kyle Tucker were the co-chairmen.
Also featured in the August 24th issue of The Independent 
Photo Credit: ShotBee

Larry and Ellie Maddox with Woody Reintjes

Mike and Nancy Hougland, Mike Bickley and Joel Jacobsen

A slider with the ID of 2 was not found.

read more

Splash into Summer!

The Independent joins with our loyal subscribers and Our Town’s non-profit organizations and country clubs to celebrate the 2013 summer, Kansas City-style!
More photos are posted on our Facebook page at The Independent: Kansas City’s Journal of Society, on Twitter @kcindependent, and on Instagram @kcindependent.

read more

Sensational Shopping

Holiday Mart 2013
The Junior League of Kansas City, Missouri, will host the 26th annual Holiday Mart October 17th through October 20th at Bartle Hall. The fabulous shopping event will celebrate the JLKCMO’s 100th anniversary. Since its inception in 1988, Holiday Mart has raised nearly $9 million for community projects. Lisa Kalell and Julie Stoner are serving as the co-chairmen.

read more

Celebrating Success

Ambassadors of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts
June 20th was the date for the annual meeting of the Ambassadors of the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Members and guests enjoyed cocktails, hors d’oeuvres and entertainment by Oasis. Cheryl Kimmi, KC Fringe Festival; was the guest speaker. Dick Fagerberg is serving as the president.

read more