Author Archive :

In the Spotlight

HEAR the Beat
November 1st is the date for Saint Luke’s Midwest Ear Institute’s HEARAid Gala at the Sheraton Kansas City at Crown Center. Joni and Larry Weiner are the honorary chairmen, and Carolyn and Gary Hanson are the chairmen. The “HEAR the Beat” themed-event will feature cocktails, dinner, silent and live auctions, entertainment by the Allegro Dancers, and dancing to Private Stock .

read more

Fashion for a Cause

Truman Medical Center
April 5th was the date for Truman Medical Center’s Fashion For A Cause in the Grand Ballroom of the Kansas City Convention Center. Julie Cheslik and Paul Black were the honorary chairmen, and Amy and David Embry served as the chairmen. Carson Kressley, Emmy-award winning television star, hosted the premier fashion event where ready-to-wear and couture fashions from 10 local retailers lined the runway.

read more

The Children’s Place Angels’ Gala

Guardian Angels
April 5th was the date for the Angels of The Children’s Place Angels’ Gala at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown. Darrell Hammond, Saturday Night Live alum; was the keynote speaker. Guests enjoyed a delicious dinner, a live auction and dancing to the music of the KC All Stars. Dallas and Scott Pioli were the honorary chairmen, and Laura Jones and Ann Tinsman served as the co-chairmen.

read more

Cheers to Volunteers

Roberta Abramson
Treasured volunteer Roberta Abramson has served on the board of directors of Hope House for nearly five years. Much of Roberta’s time has been spent working on events and fundraising and bringing awareness to the issue of domestic violence. Roberta currently works for Hallmark Cards and has connected many people within the creative community to Hope House.  
Also featured in the May 18th issue of The Independent

A slider with the ID of 2 was not found.

read more

The Women’s Employment Network

Celebrating Women
April 10th was the date for The Women’s Employment Network’s annual luncheon at the Sheraton Kansas City at Crown Center. Tara and Jon Darbyshire and Dawn and David Baker were the honorary co-chairmen, and Heather Anderson Feagans and Anita Bajaj Newton served as the co-chairmen. UMB was awarded the 2013 Beth K. Smith Award.

read more