Center Stage

Shawnee Mission Medical Center

Golden Anniversary
April 17th is the date for Shawnee Mission Medical Center’s 50th Anniversary at the Kauffman Center for the Performing Arts. Jeannette Nichols, J.C. “Jay” Nichols III and Loretta Nichols are the honorary co-chairmen, and Jeanne Olofson is the chairman. Shawnee Mission Medical Center was built back in the 1960′s when members of the New Haven Seventh-day Adventist Church, Dr.

read more

The Westport Garden Club

Entertaining Gardens
The Westport Garden Club will host Entertaining Gardens on May 18th. Marilyn Hebenstreit and Ginny McCanse are the co-chairmen. The tour will feature six private gardens, with three of them including part of the homes. Each garden will be prepared for a festive occasion to inspire outdoor entertaining. Proceeds from the event will benefit Powell Garden’s “Good to Grow’ children’s education program.

read more

In the Spotlight

Angel Gala

August 24th is the date for the Kansas City Hospice House’s annual Angel Gala at the DoubleTree by Hilton. Carol and Arnold Caviar are the honorary chairmen, and Carol Barnett, Sharon Mallin and Jill Shapiro are the co-chairmen. 
Also featured in the April 6th issue of The Independent

Carol Barnett, Sharon Mallin and Jill Shapiro, co-chairmen

A slider with the ID of 2 was not found.

read more

Pour for More


                              Steve Metzler, chairman

May 10th is the date for Pour for More, a benefit for KidsTLC. Steve Metzler will serve as the chairman. Guests will enjoy cocktails, a silent auction and entertainment by The Dueling Piano Guys at The Guild. Proceeds from the event will provide in-patient psychiatric treatment, resource family services, community outreach, and behavioral health and autism treatment for children and families in Our Town.

read more

The Friends of Chamber Music

Sophisticated Soiree

       Jennifer and Bud Bacon, honorary chairmen

May 11th is the date for The Friends of Chamber Music’s annual benefit Soiree 2013 at the Kansas City Country Club. Guests will enjoy a gourmet dinner, an intimate concert by the Ariel Quartet and silent and live auctions featuring select wines. Jennifer and Bud Bacon are the honorary chairmen, and Master Sommelier Doug Frost will serve as the emcee.

read more